CYM logo
Young Composer of the Year 2006

Twenty-four young people entered Cambridge Youth Music’s first competition for young composers. The event was open to those aged 10 to 18 years who live or go to school in Cambridgeshire and was judged by Composer and Director of Music at Robinson College Cambridge Dr Jeremy Thurlow.

Competitors could compose pieces for any number or combination of instruments and/or voice. Entries included works for full orchestra, string quartet, percussion and voice. Winners were selected in three age groups with Jake Howarth declared the overall winner and the new Cambridge Young Composer of the Year.

Initially it was planned to perform only the winning composition. However, the standard was so high it was decided to perform the works of all three age group winners at the Winners Concert in Cambridge’s West Road Concert Hall in May 2006.




Young Composer of the Year: Jake Howarth

Age group 16-18
Victoria Ayano Royce: 'Kaleidoscope' for string quartet

Age group 13-15
Jake Howarth: 'The Farewell' for symphony orchestra

Age group 10-12 
Alex Cook: 'The Cutty Sark' for string orchestra